Do we have enough? The problem with sharing

Over my lifetime I have tried to pair myself down to two dresses, two pair of shoes, a bowl, a cup ( I love tea) and a warm blanket. I haven’t made it, but I have come close.

The average American home contains 300,000 things. Per family that is 300,000 toys, gadgets, kitchen appliances, mementos, books, and unidentified stationary objects.

So since we have enough stuff, perhaps junk, to build housing for the homeless, what are we hanging onto?

It is not  my intention to shame anyone. According to my friend Andrew Mellen who wrote “Unstuff Your  Life” (AndrewMellen.com) our most effective relationship to our stuff is to determine what we need and after that donate or give away the old things that we replace.

Leave a Reply

